Book review

Book Review: Halo by Alexandra Adornetto


Gel’s little side note:

Hey everyone! I think these past few weeks I became very busy with academic stuff, so writing reviews as often as possible IS NOT POSSIBLE. I’m a little bummed with myself… but anyway, it’s a good thing that I posted one now!

Today, I’m gonna review a book one of my friends lent me. Thanks, Lara (sa uulitin, char!)!

Book Review Halo Alexandra Adornetto Books y Gel

Enjoy, guys – you’re my favorite audience. Haha!


Details:

Halo Alexandra Adornetto
Adornetto, A. (2011). Halo. New York, NY: Square Fish.

Edition: Paperback, 484 pages

ISBN: 9780312674366

Price: ₱485.00 (National Book Store)

Series: Halo #1

Genres: Paranormal > Angels, Young Adult, Romance

Characters: Bethany Church (Beth), Xavier Woods, Gabriel Church, Ivy Church, Jake Thorn

Setting: Venus Cove (fictional town at Georgia coastline)

Dates read: Feb. 15-Mar. 2, 2016

Means: I borrowed this from my friend (thanks again, Lara!).


My rating: 2/5 stars


See my Goodreads review version!


Synopsis:

 HEAVEN SENT

“Three angels are sent by Heaven to bring good to a world falling under the influence of darkness: Gabriel, the warrior; Ivy, the healer; and Bethany, the youngest and most human. They work hard to conceal their luminous glow, their superhuman powers, and their wings. Then Bethany meets Xavier Woods, and the two are unable to resist their attraction to each other. But the angels’ mission is urgent, and dark forces are threatening. Will love ruin Bethany or save her?”


Comment on the cover:

*Cover illustration © 2010 by Nico Jonker | Cover design by Rich Deas

I instantly fell in love with the cover! I think IF I didn’t know any better, this would be an all-out cover buy. Silhouette’s really my weakness. Everything’s better in silhouette.

Everything is wonderful!

Who doesn’t want that kind of cover? I can stare at it for hours. It’s just too beautiful and romantic.


Book discussion:

 I did a little reading on Goodreads to know the community’s reaction to the book. I was surprised by how negative a lot of the reviewers were. I thought, “Really? I’m sure it can’t be THAT bad,” but let me tell you: it was THAT bad.

Thoughts after a few chapters: This book is the ultimate crap. I wanna throw this in heaven or hell or whatever part of anywhere.

WTF IS THIS SHIT

-Let me gather my thoughts for a while and I’ll try to present my opinions in a good way, though devilishly angry thoughts are swirling in my head right now.-

But did you know, I really want to put off writing a review because I can foresee what I would write: rants, rants, and MORE RANTS.

Gosh, let’s start. I’ll divide it into sections.

The unrealistic portrayal of characters and their irritating representation throughout the book:

Okay, first off: the characters are so Mary Sue and stereotypical. I can’t dismiss the fact that they’re angels, because angels are supposed to be PERFECT, right? But gosh, that was just terribly silly.

Bethany’s friends, like Molly, are also represented in the book as the typical teenager stereotype. She’s surrounded with friends who just wanted to talk about make-up, prom, boys, fashion, and PROM. Please, not all girls are like that! Teenagers were badly portrayed in this book, and the characters just lacked depth. Whenever they had a part in the book, I just wanna roll my eyes by how annoying they were.

AHHHH!! GIF

The overly-clichéd plot that makes you wanna pull all your hair off:

The plot was just as predictable and bland as the characters. If you want to go on an adventure with an immature angel girl head-over-heels and forbiddingly in love with a gorgeous, athletic mortal boy, then fuck the heavens – this might be for you.

But it wasn’t until half or 3/4 of the book that a REAL villain got thrown into the picture. I don’t know if the appearance of that character was just an after-thought, but it was painfully integrated that it was a face-palming experience. Raise your hand if you are so full of new-transfer-student-at-school *raises my hand too energetically*!

The poor integration of quotable quotes that made conversations too forced and preachy about life:

As a hardcore quote lover, you’ll never know how painful it was for me to digest the quotes I spotted. Take a look at this on p. 140:

Sometimes you meet a person and you just click – you’re comfortable with them, like you’ve known them your whole life, and you don’t have to pretend to be anyone or anything.

…and this (p. 170):

Sometimes it’s the little things that count most.

Let’s have a fun little challenge: Count how many times a sentence started with “sometimes” and then followed by a seemingly life quote. Hmm… I didn’t know, but this set-up was just fucking infuriating.

that's just SICK GIF

The bothersome romance between the two main characters and how they can’t get their mouths off each other:

They were childish, clingy and they reminded me of smoochy couples updating their status in Facebook every minute.

Read this quote from p. 401 and you’ll agree with me:

When I realized Xavier was absent from school the following day, my eyes burned and I felt hot and dizzy. I wanted to crumple to the ground and just wait for someone to carry me away. I couldn’t make it through another day without him; I could hardly make it through another minute. Where was he? What was he trying to do to me?

…and this (p. 411):

“You know,” Xavier said, “not speaking to you for a few days was the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life.”

“I know what you mean,” I said softly. “I just wanted to die.”

Please, let me get the fuck outta the book discussion. I might have a migraine, and I don’t have migraines *sings Fuck this Shit I’m Out*.

FUCK THIS SHIT I'M OUT GIF

What I like:

Sorry for a while there. Now, let’s be optimistic and focus on what I actually like.

^ I can’t.

All right, let’s continue the discussion some more.

The unbelievable number of typographical errors that it was a surprise that this book got past the editors in its form:

Take a look here on p. 67:

Molly and her friends looked as if they never tired of experimenting with their hair…

And more cringe-worthy failures. Too bad I haven’t even bookmarked what I’ve found!

And last but not the least: don’t make me write about the religious stuff in this book. My head might explode.

Homer Simpson head explode


Round up and recommendation:

 As much as possible, I don’t want to recommend this book. But I finished it (hence the two stars), and despite the negative review, I believe I enjoyed some parts, of course. I might recommend this to tweens that still think everything in this world is perfect. And maybe the real hardcore fans of Twilight who got into the hype a few years ago.


Sample excerpt:

“Honestly, what is it you like so much about literature?” he asked with genuine interest. “I hate how there’s no right or wrong answer. Everything’s open to interpretation.”

“Well, I like the way each person can have a completely different understanding of the same word or sentence,” I said. “You can spend hours discussing the meaning behind a poem and have reached no conclusion by the end of it.”

“And that doesn’t frustrate you? Don’t you want to know the answer?”

“Sometimes, it’s better to stop trying to make sense of things. Life isn’t clear-cut, there are always gray areas.”

Halo, Alexandra Adornetto, 2011, 153


Gel’s little side note:

Fabulously finished it. Sorry if this whole thing constituted of 80% review and 20% sarcastic remarks/curse words. LOL. Hope you enjoyed my rant review! Now, off to review for my Nat Sci I DepEx tomorrow. Wish me luck!

See you soon on my next post!

12696147_1319386064753927_1974481395_nWhat book would you chuck at zombies if you had a chance?
Photo and GIFs taken from Goodreads (1) & (2), Tumblr, Know Your Meme, giffity-gif-gif, Giphy, & Pinterest.

Follow Books y Gel:

Twitter IcongoodreadsChristine-Urban-Media-pinterest_badge_red-72x72

9 thoughts on “Book Review: Halo by Alexandra Adornetto

  1. Lol now this is such an honest review,love it! Clearly you hated the book so much that I have no interest in it now :-)Sorry about it though and I hope the next book you read will be better than this

    Liked by 1 person

All comments appreciated!

