Book review

Book Review: Carry On

Gel’s little side note: Hello guys! How are you all? This is not on schedule, but I wanna write a book review about this one as soon as possible. I have created a new Netgalley account (yay!) because as much as I love reading on print, I missed digital reading! It all started on my love for Wattpad, but I kept hearing good things about Netgalley, so I tried!

So this would be my first review coming from it. Enjoy!

28356624
Rowell, Rainbow. (2016). [First published 2015]. Carry On. London, United Kingdom: Macmillan
Some details:

Edition: Digital, 528 pages

ISBN: 9781447266945

Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult, Romance

Characters: Simon Snow, Baz, Penelope, Agatha, The Mage

Setting: Watford School of Magick

My rating: 3/5 stars

Dates read: Feb. 24-Feb. 25, 2016

Do you want to know… (directed to Goodreads)

See my Goodreads and Netgalley review versions!

Comment on the cover:

I’ve been seeing this book everywhere. I loved the simplicity of the cover, it just shows that a cover need not to be flashy and grand just to be beautiful. I had my doubts on what the two men symbolize, but of course, my question was answered halfway through the book. Honestly, what would urge me to buy this book is the big “Rainbow Rowell” right there. Still, this cover caught my attention. It doesn’t give out much about the “fantasy” element, though.

Synopsis:

Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last year at the Watford School of Magicks, but no one will let him. His girlfriend broke up with him, his best friend is a pest, and his mentor keeps trying to hide him away in the mountains where maybe he’ll be safe. Simon can’t even enjoy the fact that his roommate and longtime nemesis is missing, because he can’t stop worrying about the evil git. Plus there are ghosts. And vampires. And actual evil things trying to shut Simon down. When you’re the most powerful magician the world has ever known, you never get to relax and savor anything.

Carry On is a ghost story, a love story, a mystery and a melodrama. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story — but far, far more monsters.

Features:

The book was divided into four parts, labeled Book One to Book Four. Each Book has a full-page picture connected to what was one of the main events that will happen. All were in first-person POV, interchanging between the main and minor characters. I’m all right with this style, but I find it weird that even the minor characters like Fiona and Nicodemus were given parts. I understand that they have their thoughts that would make the plot move, but it was kind of confusing. Especially on Lucy’s part, where even after I finished the book, I still could not get her importance.

carryon_green
Adorable! *squeals*

Book discussion:

I highly encourage everyone to not lose hope getting past the first book (150 pages) because the action does not start until the second one. This is my first Rainbow Rowell book and I have no background information about Fangirl and the others, so I was deeply confused on all the information Rowell put on the first book. I thought I was seriously missing something to the point that I searched the net if this was a series (or the first book in a series). Anyway, after that part, it all goes well from there – with the plot obviously getting more interesting. Not your typical romance story, I’m sure the twist would excite everyone.

My journey:

Forgive me if I can’t stop comparing this one to Harry Potter. I would not elaborate on too much details, but it’s great that Simon Snow and the others drew me into experiencing their magical (and romantic) adventures. It was a good thing that it’s a page-turner for me; I know my pace, and it’s been too long since I finished a 500+ page novel quickly.

The one person that kept me on my peak of interest was really Baz. I liked how his character was written, you can’t help liking him even if he was hated by everyone (and again, Draco Malfoy was my favorite character in HP). I warmed up to him quickly, even to Penelope (I can see myself in her, I liked her!).

One character that I didn’t like was Agatha. I don’t know if she was badly written, or incredibly written that my hate for her oozes. Maybe the latter… Also, The Mage was not elaborated… how confusing was that! I would trade Lucy’s POV for some of The Mage’s, thank you very much.

What I like:

  • I was caught up on the romance in this book.*fangirls* Not enough, but tolerable.
  • Simon’s personality. It was silly, fun, and he often makes mistakes. It was a light read.
  • The realization that it was all right even if you only have three (two and a half) friends, at least they’re true. Penelope proved it.
  • The spells! I always crack up whenever the characters mention a spell. Can you blame me for how ridiculous they sounded? Here is my personal favorite:

I lay my hand on the teapot and cast, “Some like it hot!” I hear the tea bubbling, and a hairline crack shoots down from the lid. (Rainbow Rowell, 2016, 235)

leviosa
Here it would be: “It’s ‘Up, up and AWAY’, not ‘Up, up AND away’!”

What I dislike:

I already mentioned some of what I dislike above… so here are a few mentions:

  • The politics. I didn’t feel the passion that I believe I was supposed to feel when “politics” was mentioned. Where’s the action?
  • A typo – but I read that copies distributed to us wasn’t in their last copy editing. Can’t hurt mentioning it, though. I am currently reading a published paperback novel and spotted a few typos… too many for a published book – it was upsetting.

“Your golden one. His golden one. Your pistil and stigma.”

“Pistol… Do you mean Agatha?” (Rainbow Rowell, 2016, 100)

Round up and recommendation:

Recommended for people who read the same genre! I liked the book and the much more contemporary concept – it was an amusing read.

Sample excerpt:

Sharing a room with the person you hate most is like sharing a room with a siren… You can’t ignore that person, and you never get used to them. It never stops being painful. (Rainbow Rowell, 2016, 165-166)
Gel’s little side note: Yay! Thanks for reading. Share your thoughts below, I’d love to hear from you!
I received a digital copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

See you soon on my next post!

12696147_1319386064753927_1974481395_n

What is your favorite Rainbow Rowell book?
Photos and GIF taken from Goodreads, foreveryoungadult, and Seventeen.
7 thoughts on “Book Review: Carry On

  1. Pingback: The Random Tag. |

All comments appreciated!

