top 5 wednesday

Top 5 Wednesday: Best Suggested Books You Loved

Hey guys! I recently joined a group in Goodreads called “Top 5 Wednesday.” It is a weekly book meme created by Lainey from gingerreadslainey to share a great love for lists every Wednesday. For this week, the topic is Best Suggested Books You Loved (books recommended to you).

Let’s get started!

The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry

578618

This was suggested by my dad back when I was a “blossoming bookworm”. I was skeptical at first if this would turn out to be a good read because of how childish the cover is, but boy, little did I know that this would be my all-time-most-frequently-read! I recently watched The Little Prince (2015), and words are not enough to describe how I felt about it. I just cried over the course of the film. ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT.

Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach

71728

This was suggested by my friend, JM. I read this book then after a few hours, re-read it again. This book was also the reason why I decided to create a blog in the first place (“How did I start my blog?“). Because of my overflowing thoughts on the book, I just realized that I need somewhere to vent out my emotions. I compiled a list of wonderful quotes from the book here, maybe you could check it out!

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown

968

This was suggested by my best friend, Melanie. I loved reading thought-provoking mystery books, so she made me borrow this. I really loved it and I remember that I spent hours surfing the net on explanations about this (and I now always interestingly stare in wonder at our “The Last Supper” painting in our kitchen. I am now on a quest to read every similar work by Dan Brown (whenever my budget permits).

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

9460487

This was suggested by my friend, Trisha (or Trillows, as I like to call her). We were seatmates back in high school days and she would always tell how wonderful the book is. I was hooked by her descriptions and the book was gorgeous, too (the strange cover and old photographs were definitely a plus). This book gave me the chills, kept me up all night, left me pondering for days, and wanting for more.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

5

Actually, the Harry Potter series was what was suggested to me by my dad (again). The third book was just my favorite of all. Harry Potter really made an impact on my life as a reader, and I just know that I would enjoy reading as a general hobby after this. I don’t have a physical copy of the series yet, but one of these days I am definitely sure I would have.

See you soon on my next post!

12696147_1319386064753927_1974481395_n

What is the best suggested book for you?
The book covers, titles and authors were taken or linked from Goodreads.
10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Best Suggested Books You Loved

  1. Thanks for the follow back! 🙂
    Miss Peregrine’s is definitely on my TBR, I’m always hearing great things about it so I can’t wait to pick it up soon.
    Also, I read The Little Prince multiple times and I find it funny how each time I find something new in it and look at it in a different way. Definitely a very different experience reading it as an adult, as opposed to reading it as a child or a teenager.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, Tamara!
      Glad Miss Peregrine’s is on your TBR. It’s a wonderful book and you’ll not be disappointed. Looking forward to your review!
      That’s exactly my thoughts about The Little Prince! Timeless and one will have a different perspective every time.
      Thanks for your lovely comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. None of my friends are readers, and actually, I don’t really know any readers in person so no one’s ever really recommended books to me personally. I usually just look for books on my own~ I guess my high school teacher recommended an author once and I read 2/3 of a book by them but never finished.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Raquel! Then I admire you for keeping the flame burning for your love of books! I got into reading because I was surrounded by peers who also enjoyed it, so hearing from someone who has not-exactly-reader-type friends was a change. Anyway, I also love looking for books on my own, and some of the books that I have read the best were from my searching alone.

      Liked by 1 person

All comments appreciated!

