The Ultimate Bookish Quotes

6 Dark Quotes from The Wallflower, Vol. 1

Gel’s little side note: Hey guys! The Quote Queen is back. These are the quotes that I liked from the manga Yamatonadeshiko Shichihenge: The Wallflower, Vol. 1 by Tomoko Hayakawa. I also did a book review about this a while ago, so you might wanna check that out.

Let’s get down to the quotes!

49.2

“I don’t want to change. I like being this way. I’m happy this way.” (Tomoko Hayakawa, 2004, 49)

The four boys were giving Sunako a makeover. Kyohei was a little pissed off now and said that nothing will happen because she herself doesn’t want to change.

Gel’s reflections: Sometimes, I, too am a little confused as to what should I side on: people who urge me to be better, or people who urge me to be happy. This is very perplexing. All right… my gut said that I should always strive to be better. Those people who care know what I should do, so I should consider their advice and be open-minded. Getting out of my comfort zone can be a pain in the ass. It would be hard, but if I think that it would be worth it, I might take the risk. At the end of the day, being happy is what I should feel. So, I think the decisions I should make must be balanced — I would be better, but I would be happy with what I do. How about you?

57

“Why? Why me? I didn’t do anything to anyone… I just want to live quietly by myself…” (Tomoko Hayakawa, 2004, 57)

Students organized a game where the first one to get a clear picture of her face will get a reward. She is agoraphobic, so that really sucked for her.

Gel’s reflections: Have you ever been in a situation where you’re just being quiet but some jackass would make fun of you? SO NOT FUN. Don’t they have anything better to do by themselves? That their ultimate goal would be to make you annoyed? Let’s altogether kick that douche bag to space.

107.1

“That creature of light shouldn’t even exist in this world… and the rays of light that surround him… …make me melt and decay into nothingness…” (Tomoko Hayakawa, 2004, 107)

Sunako was having a heart-to-heart talk with Noi, a good friend of hers. She was talking about Kyohei, because she said that he makes her blind with light.

Gel’s reflections: Well, genetics? We all have different concepts of beauty… and if you’re insecure about someone… ugh, that sucks. Please don’t. A good reply to this is the next quote…

107.2

“Well, why don’t you just become a “creature of light” too? Stop being so dark. …and let a little light shine into your life.” (Tomoko Hayakawa, 2004, 107)

This is Noi’s advice to Sunako.

Gel’s reflections: I just love this quote. It just reminds us to be better with ourselves. We don’t need to blame others just because they have what we don’t have. We should just strive harder to accomplish our goal, and to feel a little better, too! Good things come to those who let them come.

108

“You’re the one who’s not even trying. If you want to change the way you look, all you have to do is try. Why don’t you stop living in darkness, and come into the light.” (Tomoko Hayakawa, 2004, 108)

This is another advice by Noi. Sunako said that she could just say that because she has it so easy. But, no…

Gel’s reflections: Don’t fucking dare to judge someone’s life because you haven’t been in their shoes. We all have problems, okay? Also, if you really wanna change, TRY. Noi is right. Maybe you can find yourself if you just take a little risk and try.

116

“People who are born beautiful have it so easy.” (Tomoko Hayakawa, 2004, 116)

The boys, except Kyohei were chatting with her about their bonding with Noi. The conversation led to Takenaga being lucky because of Noi, thus sparking Sunako to say this.

Gel’s reflections: Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Yes, there are advantages of being beautiful, but those only apply to those looking at you. Even though we may perceive that a beautiful person have it so easy, then thanks for being a judgmental twat. It’s the 21st century, please don’t be like that.

ref

Gel’s little side note: These are the quotes in the book that I had taken a liking of. I hope you enjoyed this and thanks for reading! If you have any comments, suggestions, or violent reactions, I’ll be glad to hear from you!

-some time this space may be reserved for my signature-

Featured photo taken from here. All images, except the featured image, are made by me on Quotescover. The background from those images are taken from here.

4 thoughts on “6 Dark Quotes from The Wallflower, Vol. 1

All comments appreciated!

