2016 Reading Challenge · Book review

POPSUGAR’s 2016 Reading Challenge: A book that takes place during Summer

I can’t calm my tits. Just kidding. I just want to maximize my time and use what’s left of my two-week vacation to accomplish as many challenges as possible. I also started the 52-week Money Challenge (student version) today, and I already put a month’s worth of money in my piggy. Guess I tend to be advanced as possible, huh?

Wimpy_Kid_4_Cover_Art
Kinney, J. (2009). Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days. New York, NY: Amulet Books

ANYWAY, back to the topic. I wanted to have a light, easy read last night, so I grabbed Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days by Jeff Kinney on my shit ton pile of books. I just finished it this moment, because ugh, procrastination?

In case some of you does not know the series, middle-schooler Greg Heffley records his hilarious life in his diary. Every page has very good stick man drawings, because of course, this is a children’s book. In this fourth book, he attempts to spend his summer vacation indoors playing video games and watching television (well, who wouldn’t want that?). Because of his mom, he tried to spend it outside, but that just led to funny disasters and epic fails. Sorry Greg, but some people just find your summer life amusing.

396890_422374334472850_1130659288_n
Starring: Robert Capron as Rowley Jefferson (left) and Zachary Gordon as Greg Heffley (right).

Due to popular demand, this book also has a movie adaptation. I remembered that I once used their movie poster years ago as a Facebook cover. That’s how I loved (still love) the series! I used to watch it with my siblings… good times. I tried to influence my 11-year old sister to read the whole series (I have 8 out of the 10 main books) and she finished in four days. That’s cool for someone who’s never had that much interest in books before.

I learned many lessons reading the book (albeit not that motivational) and I am planning to share the quotes I’ve amassed. I was thinking to combine it with this post, but went against it because I am still learning how to make the quotes design-wise and child-friendly in Photoshop. Hopefully I would finish it later or tomorrow.

Would I recommend the book to you? HELL YEAH. Even though you think you’re past that age where you’re supposed to read it? HELL FRIGGIN’ YEAH. Again, who wouldn’t want to follow this little boy’s adventures?

Another category: check! That’s all for today. Thanks for reading!

Photos taken from: http://www.amazon.com/Dog-Days-Diary-Wimpy-Book/dp/0810983915

One thought on “POPSUGAR’s 2016 Reading Challenge: A book that takes place during Summer

All comments appreciated!

