2016 Reading Challenge

POPSUGAR’s 2016 Reading Challenge: Bring it on!

POPSUGAR has once again released their ultimate reading challenge, and I’m up for it this time! Last year, I did not take the reading challenge seriously and only accomplished 13/52. Not that proud of that.

This is the challenge:

list(1)

A while ago, I have already listed the possible books I would read for each category. I did that as early as possible because if not, I can predict that I would just procrastinate all year and base what would I read on just whatever comes to mind.

With the help of Goodreads and National Book Store, I have known what are some of the best books that fit in each category and the price in our local book store. I already have most of what I would read on my bookshelves, but for some categories, I must buy. Of course, as a student (an always broke college student, just kidding), it is important for me to know good but not-that-hard-on-the-pocket books. Hopefully, I can balance my budget on this.

To evenly distribute 40 books in a year, it will take one book per week. Another “I hope” for me, to stick to that timeline. As for the order of reading, I would just let myself pick randomly because I already have a list.

For some categories, I’m stuck on what to read:

  • A National Book Award Winner
  • A self-improvement book
  • A book at least 100 years older than you
  • A book that’s more than 600 pages
  • A book of poetry
  • An autobiography

I also cannot decide outright on which to read for the categories I do not have yet [Prices based on the National Book Store *($1 USD = ₱47 PHP)]:

  • A book based on a fairy tale
    • Mirror, Mirror by J.D. Robb, et al for ₱315
    • The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly for ₱419
    • Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige for ₱435
    • Cinder: The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer for ₱435
  • A book that’s becoming a movie this year
    • Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll for ₱99
    • The Choice by Nicholas Sparks for ₱315
    • Looking for Alaska by John Green for ₱345
    • Inferno by Dan Brown
  • A book from Oprah’s Book Club
    • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens for ₱99
    • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens for ₱99
    • A Million Little Pieces by James Frey
  • A book written by a comedian
    • Hopia by Lloyd Cadena for ₱150
    • Eng Serep Megwele by Lloyd Cadena for ₱195
    • This Book Loves You by PewDiePie for ₱675
  • A satirical book
    • Gulliver’s Travels by Jonathan Swift for ₱99
    • The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn by Mark Twain for ₱99
    • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen for ₱99
    • Animal Farm by George Orwell
  • A book that takes place on an island
    • Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson for ₱99
    • Lord of the Flies by William Golding for ₱319

Sorry about that price list. I just wanna take my allowance more seriously this year. Anyway, I hope you, dear reader, would take this awesome challenge, too! I would post updates on my progress all throughout the year. Good luck to both of us!

Photo taken from: http://www.popsugar.com/latest/POPSUGAR-Challenge

http://www.popsugar.com/love/Reading-Challenge-2016-39126431

Got any suggestions? Comment below!

12 thoughts on “POPSUGAR’s 2016 Reading Challenge: Bring it on!

  1. Hi there! I am also participating in a 2016 Reading Challenge and would love to have you join me on my journey as well! If you would like, please check out my blog. I look forward to reading about what you are reading! Happy 2016 and best of luck on your challenge! -BJ

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think this is great Idea . um a book that is in a movie that you didn’t mention is ‘me,earl and the dying girl ” . I’m reading it right now and totally in love 😀
    Miranda sing has a book about self help ( which is the title ) and it’s a comedy . also you can use that as one written by a comedien also .
    Erin henson ( http://thepoeticunderground.com/) is a brilliant poem and the first I’ve read more than 20 on . she has a lovely little book full of poetry called
    thepoeticunderground ( like her tumblr site ) and the second is voya – poetic underground book 2 .
    you can check it out here
    http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/thepoeticunderground#_=_
    I hope I helped in some way .:D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! You’ve really helped me out. I actually stumbled upon “Me, Earl and the Dying Girl” on Goodreads but sadly, it is still not available in our local bookstore. Hopefully, they would re-stock soon! Yay for Miranda Sings! Why didn’t I think of that? I’ll surely check out Erin Hanson’s. I’m really grateful for your suggestions.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hey, Ayele! I remembered your suggestions. Just a few weeks ago, a friend of mine let me borrow his book (Tricks by Ellen Hopkins). It was a poetry book so I believe I got that covered now! I also got a movie copy of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl from him so I’m excited to watch it (and maybe buy the book afterwards). I know it’s been so long but thanks again for your suggestions. LOL!

      Like

      1. Lol I’m glad you remembered me and I hope you’re enjoying it. I can’t believe you’re watching the movie! You have to tell me how you like it

        Liked by 1 person

All comments appreciated!

